STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS SUPPLEMENT No. 6

24th November, 2023

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS SUPPLEMENT

to The Uganda Gazette No. 76, Volume CXVI, dated 204th November, 2023

Printed by UPPC, Entebbe, by Order of the Government.

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2023 No. 94

THE JUDICATURE (DESIGNATION OF HIGH COURT CIRCUITS) INSTRUMENT, 2023

ARRANGEMENT OF PARAGRAPHS

Paragraph

- 1. Title
- 2. Purpose
- 3. Designation of High Court Circuits
- 4. Transitional arrangements
- 5. Administrative circular
- 6. Revocation

2023 No. 94

The Judicature (Designation of High Court Circuits) Instrument, 2023

(Under section 19 of the Judicature Act, Cap. 13)

IN EXERCISE of the powers conferred upon the Chief Justice by section 19(2) of the Judicature Act, and in consultation with the Principal Judge, this Instrument is made this 17th day of November, 2023.

1. Title

This Instrument may be cited as the Judicature (Designation of High Court Circuits) Instrument, 2023.

2. Purpose

The purpose of this Instrument is to designate High Court Circuits for the trial of civil and criminal causes and for the disposal of other legal business.

3. Designation of High Court Circuits

The areas specified in the Schedule to this Instrument are designated High Court Circuits by the names specified in column 2, comprising the corresponding area in column 3.

4. Transitional arrangements

On the operationalisation of the newly created High Court Circuits by this Instrument—

(a) the cases originating from Kwania, Oyam and Apac districts previously filed under the Lira High Court Circuit shall be transferred to Apac High Court Circuit;

- (b) the cases originating from Bugweri, Namayingo, Namutumba and Bugiri districts previously filed under the Iganga High Court Circuit shall be transferred to Bugiri High Court Circuit;
- (c) the cases originating from Mitooma, Sheema, Rubirizi, Buhweju and Bushenyi districts previously filed under the Mbarara High Court Circuit shall be transferred to Bushenyi High Court Circuit;
- (d) the cases originating from Alebtong, Amolatar and Dokolo districts previously filed under the Lira High Court Circuit shall be transferred to Dokolo High Court Circuit;
- (e) the cases originating from Entebbe Municipality and Busiro County South of Wakiso district previously filed under the respective High Court Divisions in Kampala shall be transferred to Entebbe High Court Circuit;
- (f) the cases originating from Kiruhura, Kazo, Kamwenge, Kitagwenda and Ibanda districts previously filed under the Mbarara and Fort Portal High Court Circuits respectively shall be transferred to Ibanda High Court Circuit;
- (g) the cases originating from Kasese district previously filed under the Fort Portal High Court Circuit shall be transferred to Kasese High Court Circuit;
- (h) the cases originating from Kyankwanzi and Kiboga districts previously filed under the Mubende High Court Circuit shall be transferred to Kiboga High Court Circuit;
- the cases originating from Karenga, Lamwo and Kitgum districts previously filed under the Gulu and Moroto High Court Circuits respectively shall be transferred to Kitgum High Court Circuit;

- (j) the cases originating from Bukedea, Ngora and Kumi districts previously filed under the Soroti High Court Circuit shall be transferred to Kumi High Court Circuit;
- (k) the cases originating from Buvuma and Buikwe districts previously filed under the Mukono High Court Circuit shall be transferred to Lugazi High Court Circuit;
- the cases originating from Adjumani, Obongi, Yumbe and Moyo districts previously filed under the Arua High Court Circuit shall be transferred to Moyo High Court Circuit;
- (m) the cases originating from Kyegegwa district previously filed under the Fort Portal High Court Circuit shall be transferred to Mubende High Court Circuit;
- (n) the cases originating from Pakwach, Zombo and Nebbi districts previously filed under the Arua High Court Circuit shall be transferred to Nebbi High Court Circuit;
- (o) the cases originating from Ntungamo district previously filed under the Mbarara High Court Circuit shall be transferred to Ntungamo High Court Circuit;
- (p) the cases originating from Butebo, Kibuku, Budaka and Pallisa districts previously filed under the Mbale High Court Circuit shall be transferred to Pallisa High Court Circuit;
- (q) the cases originating from Pader, Abim, Otuke and Agago districts previously filed under the Gulu, Moroto and Lira High Court Circuits shall be transferred to Patongo High Court Circuit;
- (r) the cases originating from Kyotera, Lyantonde, Lwengo and Rakai districts previously filed under the Masaka High Court Circuit shall be transferred to Rakai High Court Circuit; and

(s) the cases originating from Busiro County East, Busiro County North and Nansana Municipality of Wakiso district previously filed under the respective High Court Divisions in Kampala shall be transferred to Wakiso High Court Circuit.

5. Administrative circular

The Principal Judge shall, by administrative circular, direct the operation and reorganisation of the Circuits of the High Court designated under paragraph 3.

6. Revocation of S.I No. 55 of 2016

The Judicature (Designation of High Court Circuits) Instrument, 2016, No. 55 of 2016 is hereby revoked.

SCHEDULE

Paragraph 3

HIGH COURT CIRCUITS

No.	Name of Circuit	Area of Circuit
1.	Apac	Kwania, Oyam and Apac.
2.	Arua	Terego, Maracha, Madi-Okollo, Koboko, Arua and Arua City.
3.	Bugiri	Bugweri, Namayingo, Namutumba and Bugiri.
4.	Bushenyi	Mitooma, Sheema, Rubirizi, Buhweju and Bushenyi.
5.	Dokolo	Alebtong, Amolatar and Dokolo.
6.	Entebbe	Entebbe Municipality and Busiro County South.
7.	Fort Portal	Bundibugyo, Kyenjojo, Bunyangabu, Kabarole, Ntoroko and Fort Portal City.
8.	Gulu	Amuru, Omoro, Nwoya, Gulu and Gulu City.
9.	Hoima	Kagadi, Kibaale, Kikuube, Kakumiro, Hoima, Buliisa and Hoima City.
10.	Ibanda	Kiruhura, Kazo, Kamwenge, Kitagwenda and Ibanda.
11.	Iganga	Mayuge, Kaliro, Luuka and Iganga.
12.	Jinja	Buyende, Kamuli, Jinja and Jinja City.
13.	Kabale	Kisoro, Rukiga, Rubanda and Kabale.
14.	Kasese	Kasese.
15.	Kiboga	Kyankwanzi and Kiboga.
16.	Kitgum	Karenga, Lamwo and Kitgum.
17.	Kumi	Bukedea, Ngora and Kumi.
18.	Lira	Kole, Lira and Lira City.
19.	Lugazi	Buikwe and Buvuma.

20.	Luwero	Nakasongola, Nakaseke and Luwero.
21.	Masaka	Kalangala, Kalungu, Bukomansimbi, Sembabule, Masaka and Masaka City.
22.	Masindi	Kiryandongo and Masindi.
23.	Mbale	Sironko, Namisindwa, Bududa, Manafwa, Bulambuli, Bukwo, Kween, Kapchorwa, Mbale and Mbale City.
24.	Mbarara	Isingiro, Rwampara, Mbarara and Mbarara City.
25.	Mpigi	Butambala, Gomba and Mpigi.
26.	Moroto	Nakapiripirit, Amudat, Nabilatuk, Napak, Kaabong, Kotido and Moroto.
27.	Моуо	Adjumani, Obongi, Yumbe and Moyo.
28.	Mukono	Kayunga and Mukono.
29.	Mubende	Kassanda, Mityana, Kyegegwa and Mubende.
30.	Nebbi	Pakwach, Zombo and Nebbi.
31.	Ntungamo	Ntungamo.
32.	Pallisa	Butebo, Kibuku, Budaka and Pallisa.
33.	Patongo	Pader, Abim, Otuke and Agago.
34.	Rakai	Kyotera, Lyantonde, Lwengo and Rakai.
35.	Rukungiri	Kanungu and Rukungiri.
36.	Soroti	Kalaki, Kaberamaido, Serere, Amuria, Kapelebyong, Katakwi, Soroti and Soroti City.
37.	Tororo	Busia, Butaleja and Tororo.
38.	Wakiso	Busiro County East, Busiro County North and Nansana Municipality.

ALFONSE CHIGAMOY OWINY - DOLLO, Chief Justice.